Teacher of the Year

Smart/Maher National Citizenship Education Teacher Award

Each year three exceptional teachers are recognized by the VFW for their outstanding commitment to teach Americanism and patriotism to their students.  The VFW annually recognizes the nation’s top classroom elementary, junior high and high school teachers who teach citizenship education topics – at least half of the school day in a classroom environment – and promote America’s history, traditions and institutions effectively.
The Smart/Maher VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher Award (Teacher of the Year) national winners will receive:

  • A $1,000 award to the top K-5, 6-8 and 9-12 grade teachers for professional development expenses.
  • $1,000 award for each winning teacher’s school.
  • Plaques for both the winning teacher and school.
  • An all-expenses-paid trip to attend a VFW conference and receive their award

Deadline for submissions to your Department Chairman is December 1, 2018

All entries should be sent to the following:
ATTN:  Teacher of the Year Chairman
500 E Park Avenue
Wasilla, AK  99654
The Post Commander will be notified via email when their entry is received.

Check sheet for submitting a complete package to the Department Chairman